Как дизайнер понял суть бытия

В теории понятия «дизайнер» и «бизнес» должны быть плавным продолжением одно другого и всячески друг друга подразумевать. В реальности же удивительно, насколько дизайн-коммьюнити и бизнес являются взаимоисключающими понятиями, иногда просто диву даешься. А сегодня в сайдбаре прочитала такую красивую историю, прям бальзам на сердце))

A few years ago, I found myself on a phone interview with a design manager at Amazon. In the middle of the usual bevy of question he asked one that younger me was totally unprepared for: So, what would you change about the Amazon homepage?
… I quickly opened the Amazon homepage up on my laptop and looked it over, feeling pretty overwhelmed by the question. Finally, I gave up and told the design manager so:

Well, I could probably tell you about some odd visual choices here and there. But honestly, you guys are Amazon. I’d be super surprised if you hadn’t already thought things through and a/b tested the hell out of every module and menu on this page. And without knowing any of the reasoning, what that data says, and what’s underperforming, I guess I have to say I wouldn’t change anything at all.

There were a few stressful heartbeats of silence. Had I screwed up? Should I have just gone for it? I mean, the page did look pretty terrifyingly bad. There were modules everywhere, products on products on products, a crazy-long left nav that seemed nigh unusable. Why didn’t I just critique the design?

That’s a great answer, he said, finally.

by Cap Watkins

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Тупые дизайнеры

У меня есть подруга, графический дизайнер, с которой мы совершили немало славных подвигов локального масштаба. Теперь мы работаем в разных компаниях, но это не мешает нам «перенимать друг у друга опыт» и играть в маленькую игру:... Continue →